Why Am I Liberal?

15 Nov

I’m often asked, and usually in an accusatory tone, why I am a liberal. (Personally, I prefer to label myself a progressive; but I’ll save the hair-splitting differences for a phone call.) Anyway, I would think the reasons would be obvious, but for the record…

As an independent phone sex operator, I do not receive any medical or health benefits; the Affordable Care Act, aka Obamacare, is something I need.

As an independent phone sex operator, I run my own small business; however, the official definition of a “small business” is so huge in terms of profits as to be meaningless to me. More importantly for this discussion, the republican definitions of wealth & ideas about economic class are huge turn-offs. Their refusal to allow entry to anything other than poverty removes any interest on the behalf of any reasonable person in my position.

As a phone sex operator, and former flesh sex worker, I naturally believe in the right to sexual autonomy; for decades the conservative right, and so-called libertarians, have been dead wrong in both their belief and legislative practices in this area.

As a female, and a feminist, I firmly believe in my right to control my own body and my economic future; being female is not a pre-existing condition.

3 Responses to “Why Am I Liberal?”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Why Am I Liberal? A Phone Sex Operator Answers | Sex Work | Scoop.it - November 16, 2012

    [...] I’m often asked, and usually in an accusatory tone, why I am a liberal. (Personally, I prefer to label myself a progressive; but I’ll save the hair-splitting differences for a phone cal…  [...]

  2. Why Am I Liberal? A Phone Sex Operator Answers « Sex~Kitten.net - November 16, 2012

    [...] See on rightwingschwing.wordpress.com [...]

  3. Why Am I Liberal? A Phone Sex Operator Ans... - June 24, 2013

    […] I’m often asked, and usually in an accusatory tone, why I am a liberal. (Personally, I prefer to label myself a progressive; but I’ll save the hair-splitting differences for a phone cal…  […]

Talk political to me, baby!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 87 other followers

